The most ever invested rag

In the summer, as soon as got home I get barefoot, and when I wash the dishes (an amazing amount of time in my life is spent in this task, I dream about a dish washer, I have been promised by my personal architect that in the next and third house I will have one),  my feet get wet from the dish-washing-splashing and it is kind of yucky,  then I get a floor rag, and then there is always an ugly rag lying around in the kitchen. In short, the need for a beautiful rag aroused, and then I fall in love with this technique called sashiko and then the most ever invested rag was born.

Actually I used this tutorial from Purl Bee.

I have a little of mixed feeling about Purl Bee.First, I love it. I don’t think that there is one thing in that website that I don’t like, and  I love certain things so much that I want to lick the screen. The pictures are amazing, the projects are inspiring, their simplicity is enticing…..but, did you ever check out those prices? Who is going to spend 200 dollars in materials for a scarf and then spend that time knitting it? I guess that very well paid New Yorkers can afford that and are crazy enough to make themselves scarves and not just buying them, the way that I assume rich people do.  If I ever won the lottery the first thing I will do is probably go to New York and got every supply they have in that store.

Anyway,  I used a piece of cotton that I bought long time ago in Ikea, that has been used as a blanket, curtain and what not. It’s some sort of shot cotton, quite beautiful, though very used and decolored.

For the batting I used a piece of cotton drill. I did not washed before, and it shrinked, so the rag got this very nice 3-D effect.

I embroidered using some embroidery cotton thread,  and of course, I do not have a sashiko needle, so I used an embroidery needle.

The marking is important, and it’s time consuming. Maybe because I lack still one of those see through rulers, but the sashiko itself is nice and relaxing. The batting was not a good option for this technique, because it was hard to get the needle through, so I finished with wholes in my fingers, literally. Yes, I need to learn to use a thimble, it is not that easy.

DSC_7793-001

DSC_7796

DSC_7797 DSC_7799

Leave a Reply

